Fun Idea Series (#1) Meal Prep with Friends

love to cook. It’s a passion of mine that I share with my wife. Together when we were living in Columbus, Ohio; Lily and I would spend a lot of our time developing this hobby (which, at the time, was more out of necessity because I could not bear to spend another week finding sustenance on either fast food or restaurants). It is, in fact, one of the many activities that brought my wife and I closer together. We would have all these food adventures (given my $11/hr salary in our crappy 1br apartment) by looking up recipes and trying out something new or refining an old recipe. Delicious recipes were passed down through family and friends, and Lily would scour the internet for anything that seemed delicious.

That was about 5 years ago. We’re in New Jersey now; we live with my parents. This means that we don’t spend as much time cooking because we both work full-time jobs, have a baby, and my mom already cooks plenty for all of us. The passion has been put on the back-burner until Lily and I are able to move into our own home. We have this dream about a modest living, but one of the major expenses we’re willing to go all-out on is on the kitchen and dining areas. We love to cook, and we love to cook for others. It gives us a reason to cook even more, since cooking for two doesn’t require much at all.

Couple that experience with the past year at work–I’ve been on the Ketogenic diet. It’s helped me lose about 30lbs of weight, but one thing was made so abundantly clear throughout my drastic diet change: there are so many carbs in my diet. I could not eat most of what my mom cooked. I could not eat pretty much anything from fast food places. I was forced to cook for myself–so I looked into meal prepping; buying groceries every other day and cooking every night was not a very fun idea (even if I didn’t have to do too much of it because my mother was able to cook for us).

My diet has shown great results, and many of my friends and coworkers are interested in joining me. However, many of them are not as fortunate as I am where I am in a house of people who love to cook (my mom, my wife, and myself). So it got me thinking…

What if we meal prepped together?

Life is so busy that I do not get to see my friends as much as I’d like. It’s understandable, because we’re all on the grind and trying to make things happen. Socializing becomes this potentially expensive (because we go to the bars) and specialized event. Thinking this through, this is the rundown:

  • We want to save money
  • We want to eat healthier
  • We want to save time
  • We want to hang out and socialize

So what’s my simple solution!?


Meal Prep with Friends!

This is my answer to all those problems! It’s obviously daydreaming because the biggest problem to this idea is logistics–if people need to travel far just to do this one task, then it is no longer worth it. If fewer people show up, then the social aspect of the event takes a hit with each person who backs down. Despite the potential problems, I would push for it.

We’re Not Just Hosting

Before any of this can happen, there needs to be an understanding by my friends and also myself: we are not hosting a party every Sunday. Yes, guests are coming over. Yes, food will be served for everyone. However, there needs to be an understanding by everyone involved that we’re all coming together to make something happen together as a community. Together we will make the day happen. Not everything needs to be set up (seating and tables) before everyone gets there–we will do it all together. This will be hard especially for me because this goes against how I was raised. Everyone helps.

Menu Declared by Wednesday

Throughout the week, we can all throw ideas in a group chat to each other about what we want to make for the week (adhering to diets, nutritional goals, budget, etc…) and when the time comes, a big email or text will go out announcing the meal(s) for the meal prep.

Commit and Pay by Thursday

Anyone who wants to sign up for the meal prep for the week will Venmo the ones doing the grocery shopping with their money ($15) and their vote for what they want to eat. To keep things simple, we will always charge $15 or $20 (still not sure about what price matches the need to create 5 servings per person) per person. That will be the rolling budget for the food preppers to work with, and any leftover money will be saved and spent on future meals.

We Shop on Sunday Morning

The beauty of meal prep is that we can properly calculate how much goes into each serving, then figure out how much each person will need, then shop accordingly. On the morning of the meal prep (since most people will be coming around at noonish or 1pm), some of us will go out to grocery shop for the meal. This can double up as another event if anyone else wants to grocery shop while they’re here. If anyone comes early, they can come join the ones who go out to shop for all the groceries.  If this proves to be too difficult, then we can grocery shop on Friday or Saturday (the benefit of committing by Thursday).

We Prep on Sundays

Everyone comes over to someone’s house and we all work together to prepare, cook, distribute, and hang out. Sunday works out because this is usually going to be Football Sundays (Lily and I plan on watching football and our family will watch football too). This gives entertainment for people who just want to socialize, and this keeps Lily and myself focused on something productive instead of sitting idly watching television. The kids can all play together, too, and we can all collectively watch over the children.

We Cook Together

The adults will all help each other out. The beauty is that we’ll have people of varying skill levels when it comes to cooking and prepping, so we’ll hopefully have the space for everyone to do what they can. Those who can cut will cut, those who cook will cook, and those whose only ability is to lift heavy objects can do that too. This will also be a great opportunity to teach young cooks and also to teach the kids how to cook.

Bring Your Own Container

This is just because of preference. 5 servings will be prepared per person, to last them through the work week. They will bring in their own 5 containers and we will fill those containers with the menu for the week. They’ll pack it up in their own coolers, then take it home at the end of the day.

We Clean Together

This is a big one. This hits once again to the first point of this not being a hosted event. Lily and I can’t spend our whole time afterwards just cleaning up after the mess. Hopefully this is handled throughout the cooking process as people are cooking, preparing, cleaning, and watching the kids throughout. At the end of the day, people will all be asked to clean up after the mess made by everyone. It’ll be easier if we do it together.


With this communal meal prep, I hope for all friends and family to come together for a practical cause and consolidate a lot of needs and wants into one eventful afternoon and evening. The resources necessary to make it happen–the logistics, the prior communication, the time, and the effort of it all–is heavily offset by the benefits that can come out of it. I really hope that I can make this happen once Lily and I have our future home. I can see so much good coming out of it!

Leave a Reply

